Gluten Free Basics

What Grains are Gluten Free?

Amaranth, Buckwheat, Corn, Millet, Specified Gluten Free Oats, Quinoa, Rice, Sorghum, Teff, Wild Rice

information taken from “http://wholegrainscouncil.org/whole-grains-101/gluten-free-whole-grains”

What Can I Eat?

While gluten free products are very helpful, I personally like to remember the things that are naturally gluten free! I’m not saying products are bad (I use them all the time!). I just usually use them as a base and liven it up with other stuff! I love fresh vegetables and fruit and meats! If you give me a beautiful steak, a (gluten friendly) salad, and a baked potato I am set!

There are a lot of great products out there. They aren’t just hiding on shelves at little places anymore! They are in regular super markets. They have sections all to themselves. If I’m looking for a cheap gluten free pasta that’s on the healthy side, I usually just step into a pasta aisle and grab some gluten free Ronzoni (it has quinoa in it and is sitting right next to the regular stuff)!

What Should I Know if I’m Avoiding Gluten for Medical Reasons?

Cross contamination is serious to us! That includes dedicated facilities, work spaces, equipment. It doesn’t just burn off!! So for example, make sure it’s a dedicated fryer or oven or pan in the oven. I remember the horror stories of people getting sick from them using the same knives to cut pizza or the same strainer for pasta..only eat where you feel comfortable!

Look for the hidden gluten and don’t assume! If it says “natural flavors” or “spices” or “sauces” or “marinades” don’t trust it unless you know for sure! Only eat what makes you feel comfortable! Soy sauce has hidden gluten. A lot of bbq flavoring does too. Sushi rice usually has rice vinegar (which contains wheat) in it if you don’t make it yourself!

Just because they have a gluten free menu or gluten free options, does not mean they are gluten free friendly. JUST BECAUSE THEY HAVE A GLUTEN FREE MENU OR GLUTEN FREE OPTIONS, DOES NOT MEAN THEY ARE GLUTEN FREE FRIENDLY.

For the 21+ crowd out there (or the legal age in your country): How you react to gluten is your own. You know your body better than anybody (except in certain ways your physician). Distilled gluten containing grain drinks (whiskey, scotch, bourbon), are LABELED AS GLUTEN FREE. “Gluten Free” labeling means 20 parts per million or less…personally I can’t have any ppm. But how much you are willing to consume is up to you. I stick to ciders personally because most of them are gluten free. But there are a lot of options out there!

Don’t stress too much and remember to have fun experimenting! 🙂