Turnovers!

I wanted to try Gee Free brand puff pastry dough since I found it a few weeks ago. I finally got my hands on some. Of course I couldn’t let my homemade jelly go to waste, so I made a childhood favorite 😀

I wanted to use parchment paper, but I was out. So I lightly greased a baking sheet with coconut oil and dusted it with cornstarch.

I didn’t use a recipe and made this all up as I went along..

You Will Need:

  • 1 sheet puffy gee free puff pastry dough
  • about 3 tsp jelly of choice
  • 1 egg
  • knife
  • fork
  • pastry brush

What To Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 425○F
  2. Place pastry sheet horizontally on cutting board. Cut into 3 equal columns and 2 equal rows (for a total of 6 equal squares).
  3. Gently pull the squares a little bit bigger.
  4. Place about 1/2 tsp of jelly into the center of each piece.
  5. Gently fold one corner of each piece to the corner diagonally across from it, creating a triangle.
  6. Use fork to press around the open edges and corners, securing them down.
  7. In a small bowl, scramble the egg. Use the pastry brush to spread the egg wash over the tops of each turnover.
  8. Place in oven for about 10-12 minutes until the dough is lightly browned.
  9. You probably want to let these cool. But maybe eat with ice cream or drizzled chocolate or something yummy?? 🙂

-GFS

Leave a Reply

