Ultimate Dairy Free Faves 🍦

For celiac I have to be 100% GF, but I am also mostly dairy and soy free as well! This list will be for dairy alternatives that are staples in my house. Foods I enjoy that are normally dairy free (few examples: Feel Good Foods potstickers, Rainbow Thai, Glutino sandwich creme cookies) won’t be the feature of this list.

These are my favorites out of the ones I’ve tried, but I am always looking for exciting new food! Feel free to let me know some of yours 🙂

Cooking

  • Follow Your Heart parmesan shreds, mozz and cheddar shreds
  • Violife sliced cheddar cheese
  • Canned coconut milk (great for savory dishes like pot pie, curries, and stroganoff)
  • Tip: use broth in place of milk for creamy dishes (mac and cheese, mashed potatoes, etc)

Baking

Snacks

GF Brands That Are Also Dairy Free

Chains with GFDF Options

CT Eateries with GFDF Options

CT Bakeries with GFDF Options

***disclaimer to always check with your server as menus and locations can change!***

Transition Tip: If you and/or your doctor feel that you need to eliminate or cut down on something from your diet, my biggest advice is to start slowly if your doctor allows! At first I only had 2 days a week that were dairy free. Eventually I went down to a day or two a week with dairy. If your situation allows, one option is to try keeping that food out of the house and just eating it when you’re out. For just cutting down on something, there are ways to compromise! One example: a pizza place that I like has some dairy in their gf crust, but most of the time I still get it with the dairy free cheese.

-GFS

Leave a comment